Who We Are


Organizing and building a movement of grassroots leaders isn’t easy, but the most effective way to make lasting change is by ensuring those that are directly impacted by inequality are at the forefront of the movement.

Achieving this requires real commitment and drive. WDP has defied the odds and achieved real gains for workers in a hostile climate because the membership is the heart of WDP.

Board of Directors

Valerie Benavidez, President
Texas Freedom Network

Claudia Golinelli, Vice President

Isaac Faz, Secretary
Dallas County Community College

Adrian Rizo, Treasurer
Charles Schwab

Remberto Apaza
Independent Contractor

Eva DeLuna Castro
Center for Public Policy Priorities

Parisa Fatehi-Weeks
Google Fiber

Mario Ontiveros
Independent Contractor

Gerardo Tovar
Air-Conditioning repair technician

Laura Olvera
Food Service Industry

Leadership Council

Kirk Adams
Service Employees International Union

Leonard Aguilar
Executive Director and Secretary/Treasurer; Texas Building Trades

Henry Allen
Executive Director; Retired; Discount Foundation

Carol Barger

Neidi Dominguez
National Strategic Campaign Coordinator and Assistant to the General President; IUPAT

Anna Fink
First Vice President for Philanthropy; Amalgamated Bank

Tory Gavito
Executive Director; Texas Future Project

Tefere Gebre
Executive Vice President; AFL-CIO

Rick Levy
President; Texas AFL-CIO

Marybeth Maxwell
Senior Vice President, Programs, Research and Training; Human Rights Campaign

Christine Owens
Executive Director; NELP

David Rolf
President; Service Employees International Union 775

Erica Smiley
Organizing Director; Jobs with Justice



Emily Timm, Co-Executive Director

Jose Garza, Co-Executive Director

Amparo Hughes, Director of Operations

Ana Gonzalez, Director of Better Builder and Policy

Stephanie Gharakhanian, Special Counsel

Juliet Barbara, Communications Director

Candelario Vasquez, Health and Safety Organizer

Chad Gray, Research Coordinator

Estefania Ponce-Dominguez, Austin Legal Manager/Organizer

Faith Donovan, Operations Manager

Jessica Wolff, Deputy Director of Better Builder and Policy

Jose Ruiz, Worksite Monitor

Jose Roberto Sosa, Worksite Monitor

Karen Escobedo, Workplace Justice Organizer

Mayra Huerta, Interim Organizing Director

Miriam Dorantes, Member Education Manager

Susan Zakaib, Grant Manager


Arlene Rodriguez, Membership and Education Coordinator

Cheli Cruz, Workplace Justice Organizer

Christopher Enriquez, Digital Strategist

Cristal Benitez-Lopez, Dallas Legal Manager/ Organizer

Maria “DJ” Garza, Dallas Campaign Organizer

Sean Goldhammer, Dallas Staff Attorney


Arnaldo “Chele” Iglesias, Campaign Organizer

Juan Luna, Houston Legal Manager/ Organizer

Laura Perez-Boston, Houston Campaign Manager

Nick Wertsch, Houston Staff Attorney